Certification applications now open!

Certification image 2

Eligible students may now begin applying for certification into the four SDC majors by submitting the application materials below. Hard copies are also available at the front desk on the fifth floor of Carpenter Hall. All application deadlines are 5pm.

Architecture Certification Application Fall 2017 (Priority deadline: April 15. Final deadline: May 1) Construction Management Certification Application Fall 2017 (Deadline: May 1) Interior Design Certification Application Fall 2017 (Deadline: May 1) Landscape Architecture Certification Application 2017 (Deadline: May 1)

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Miller.

Living Future Conference Seeks Volunteers

Living Future Volunteers

Living Future is the forum for leading minds in the green building movement seeking cutting-edge technical solutions to the most daunting global issues of our time. The 11th annual three-day conference offers over 50 panels and workshops, and features Keynote speakers Van Jones, Kirsti Luke, and Naomi Klein, along with Master Speakers Denis Hayes and Jason F. McLennan.

For more information visit http://www.livingfutureunconference.org/volunteer/ or contact LF@living-future.org.

In exchange for volunteering ten (10) hours onsite at the event, you will receive the discounted volunteer rate of $500 for the full three-day conference pass. Limited opportunity! Volunteers accepted on a rolling basis, apply early for preferred placement. All meals provided during the … » More …

Fleming honored as on-the-rise designer in the hospitality industry

Jennifer Fleming

Jennifer Fleming, Principal, Interior Designer, NCIDQ® at Rice Fergus Miller Architecture and Planning and WSU Interior Design alumna (’06) has been selected by Boutique Design on their yearly roster of noteworthy, on-the-rise designers in the hospitality industry.

The 2017 honorees will be inducted at a ceremony at The Theatre at Ace Hotel during the fifth annual Boutique Design West (BDwest) trade fair and conference, April 5 and 6 at the Los Angeles Convention Center. They will also be profiled in the April edition of Boutique Design magazine.

Jennifer Fleming

This year’s honorees are: * … » More …

IIDA Western Region Student Design Charette

NPC Charette interior design 2017 v.2

Congratulations to the winners of the NPC Charette: Natasha Nesbitt (Bellevue College), Jocelyn Camacho (WSU), Jessica Fulcher (Bellevue College), Tineke Reali (Bellevue College), & Sarah Jodway (SPU). They are headed to the Regional Charette in Arizona this April!

WSU senior Victoria Page and junior Kelcie Calcagno were on participating teams.

IIDA Puget Sound Campus Center, February 18, 2017

NPC Charette interior design 2017

Outstanding paper award for Ryan, Krikac

LA Record



Kathleen Ryan and Robert Krikac, faculty in the School of Design and Construction, earned the Outstanding Paper of the Year award from the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA).

Ryan and Krikac were co-authors with Ole Sleipness, formerly at WSU, currently at Utah State University, and Susie Gomez, a 2015 WSU graduate, now at Utah State University. Their paper, “Rural Interdisciplinary Service-Learning Projects: Frameworks for Engagement within Regional Rural Development Centers,” was honored in CELA’s Landscape Research Record No. 5.

The award will be presented at the 2017 CELA annual conference “BRIDGING“ in Beijing, China. The paper identifies opportunities for land-grant … » More …

Teams take honors at ASC Student Competition and Construction Management Conference

ASCM 2017

WSU News March 7, 2017: Students take top awards in construction management

It is with great pride that we share the results from Sparks, NV and the 30th annual ASC Region 6|7 student competition. Students and faculty from the construction mangaement program have been working hard since September and their efforts were rewarded with the following honors:

• The VDC team (Martin Rogstad, Casey Angeline, Sam Flor, Sam Rykken, Austin Bartleson, and Riley O’Keeffe – Anne Anderson, coach) took 2nd place

_DSC0233 VDC 02

•The Design Build team (Nicolas Smith, Jacob Wilcox, Jaime Stidhams, Joseph … » More …