M.Arch Program Description

The School of Design + Construction offers an NAAB accredited Master of Architecture degree (M.Arch). Once completed, this degree allows students to participate in an architect internship program and qualify for a State Architecture Licensing exam. The program is structured in a manner that students explore topics in architecture that are current and germane to the critical issues facing our profession.

It is expected that our students engage in design and scholarship that offer new insights into the role of architecture in our culture, civilization and environment. Within this context our students are challenging existing conventions and offering new and innovative solutions and ideas to many of the issues of today.

Depending on educational background, students wishing to earn the professional M.Arch degree will be admitted on a one, two, or three year time frame.

+1 year (Sample Schedule)
For students with a four-year, pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture, or a professional B.Arch degree, that have submitted application materials demonstrating a high level of design proficiency.

+ 2 year (Sample Schedule
For students with an existing undergraduate degree in architecture, or for those with a degree in an allied design discipline, that have submitted application materials demonstrating the need for additional design experience.

+ 3 year (Sample Schedule)
For students with a non-architecture undergraduate degree.

All Master of Architecture degree students engage in course work in studio, site design, technology, history and theory. The culmination of graduate study is a two semester graduate studio project. It is expected that the project be based on a defined hypothesis and demonstrate a comprehensive understanding and solution to a particular issue in architecture.

National Architectural Accrediting Board Statement
In the United States , most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Arch D in Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Master’s degree programs may consist of a preprofessional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.